The Yorkshire Challenge

The Yorkshire Challenge Award is a progressive Award first launched in 2006, open to all Cubs, Scouts, Explorer Scouts, Network Scouts and Leaders. The Award is run by Central Yorkshire Scouts, but open to all across the UK.

Bronze Award

Spend 4 nights under canvas or in a bivouac. Each of these nights must be in 4 different months – remember this can be spread over any length of time. You must also complete 3 of the 40 challenges.

Silver Award

Gain the Bronze Award, and then camp a further 4 nights in 4 different months bringing your total number of months camped in to 8. Complete a further 5 of the challenges.

Gold Award

Gain the Silver Award and then camp a further 4 nights in the remaining 4 months, i.e. At least one night camped in each month of the year, and a further 8 challenges for the Gold Award.

There is no time limit to any part of this Award, e.g. The Bronze Award does not have to be completed within one period of 12 months.

The Bronze, Silver and Gold Awards form a triangle as shown, and go on the right sleeve of the shirt or blouse below any Group Awards, District & County badges etc.

Record sheets can be downloaded or ordered from the West Leeds Scout Shop, who also sell the Award badges. For further details email:

The list of forty challenges and full rules can be found in the Yorkshire Challenge Record Card (doc), and the challenges are also listed below.

  1. Camp at 1 degree centigrade or below
  2. Sleep out above 600 metres
  3. Camp outside Yorkshire
  4. Camp on an island other than mainland UK
  5. Take part in a Patrol Camp
  6. Spend a night in a bivouac
  7. Camp at a District / County Camp Site
  8. Camp at a District event
  9. Complete an Activity Badge. Award or Challenge
  10. Camp as part of an expedition
  11. Take part in a nights-away experience as part of an night hike
  12. Spend 24hrs with another Pack, Troop, Unit
  13. Take part in an overseas expedition
  14. Camp with the Troop for 7 consecutive nights
  15. Take part in a joint activity with another section
  16. Stay at another District’s campsite
  17. Camp at, or below, sea level
  18. Camp at least 2 metres above ground
  19. Take part in an activity with another youth movement
  20. Camp with members of overseas Scouting
  21. Camp with a friend you wish to introduce to the movement
  22. Camp in a forest
  23. Complete a 20Km (12 mile) hike.
  24. Camp in an unusual place
  25. Sleep under the stars
  26. Take part in a District event.
  27. Take part in another District’s event.
  28. Wild camp above 500 metres
  29. Take part in an activity with the section above/below yours.
  30. Gain a nights away passport / permit and use it.
  31. Take part in a family camp.
  32. Complete a Troop challenge.
  33. Take an active part in a community activity / project.
  34. Take part in a water activity
  35. Take part in a Group Act of Worship
  36. Take part in a Troop fundraising activity
  37. Get a ‘good news’ story about your Troop / Group in the local newspaper
  38. Watch the sun rise.
  39. Plan, cook, serve and clear away a three-course meal for 4 people.
  40. Take part in a County event.
Put your phone down and what are you left with? Just teamwork, courage and the skills to succeed.’
Bear Grylls, Chief Scout Bear Grylls